This last Monday, I went to see a band I’ve loved since my first few years of secondary school- Two Door Cinema Club. It’s safe to say it was long awaited and it most definitely lived up to expectations I had. 


The first support act of the night were a band called Anteros. I hadn’t heard of them before the gig but I did quite like their set, and having listened to them since I do think they’re a really good band. To my complete delight, the second support act were one of my favourite bands, Sundara Karma. I’d never seen Sundara Karma before and I was really impressed- they sound exactly the same live as they do recorded and the atmosphere their set created was amazing and set things up for TDCC perfectly. My favourite song they played was ‘She Said‘, and seeing them has me even more excited for when I see them on their sold out headline tour in February. 
Two Door started their set with one of their classics, ‘Cigarettes in the Theatre‘ and from that moment onwards the crowd hardly stopped moving. It was genuinely electric throughout- everyone there seemed to be a major fan and recited every word back to the band. My highlights of the set were ‘Lavender‘, a song from their latest album, and ‘Changing of the Seasons‘ was one of their best songs of the night too. My personal favourite song by Two Door is ‘Sun‘, and that was a part of the gig I will never forget- it was amazing to hear one of my favourite songs in existence sung by a couple of thousand people. The band featured a good mix of both their old classic songs like ‘Undercover Martyn‘ and ‘This Is The Life‘: a song that if I’m honest I really didn’t appreciate enough until I saw it live; as well as some of their newest stuff from their third album, Gameshow. They closed their set with their most popular song, ‘What You Know‘ and the slowed down opening they did was nothing short of magical. All in all, it was one of the best gigs I’ve been to- I loved every minute and despite the crowds being non stop, it was mind-blowingly good. It’s been four days and I don’t think I’ll ever be completely over it! If you get the chance to see Two Door Cinema Club, I would whole-heartedly recommend you take it because it was an unforgettable experience. 
Two Door Cinema Club are still in the midst of their UK tour for the next week, and you can also catch them at Leeds & Reading Festival this Summer. 
Neive x

