Something about The Magic Gang had me hooked from the first listen. The Brighton four-piece have had a really good year- two brilliant EPs, a headline tour, tours supporting the likes of Spring King and also played at Leeds & Reading Festivals. So all in all, not a bad year. Listening to their music, you can see why. 

Jack, Kristian, Paeris and Gus have got the  catchy choruses and summery vibes down to a T. Even their songs that lyrically are perhaps more melancholy still manage to maintain an infectious quality that I think is somewhat rare nowadays. My constant playing of their latest EP even managed to convert my younger sister, who doesn’t tend to like a lot of my music, into loving them; they’re very much versatile and appealing to a wide audience. Although I haven’t yet been able to witness it myself, I’m certain that The Magic Gang’s sundrenched pop will translate magically (they are The MAGIC Gang after all) into a live set. 

My personal favourites of their infectious discography include ‘She Doesn’t See’ from their first EP and ‘All This Way’ and ‘Blue For You’ from their latest. In a lot of their songs, I feel you can really hear their supposed influences from the 50s and 60s, and it does give them a very retro, very charming vibe. They definitely appear to be loving life performing as a quartet too, which is always good to see and hear. 

Their laid back indie tunes have left them an unquestionable place on the Ones to Watch list for me and seemingly ever other list you come across- and it’s not just a fluke. The Magic Gang definitely deserve it, and I would highly recommend giving them a listen!

The Magic Gang are supporting Circa Waves on their March/April 2017 tour and will be performing at Live At Leeds 2017. 



Neive x

